Edison State College Chapter

AFC General Meeting Minutes

November 26, 2013

In attendance:

Charlotte:	Stacy Reid
	Mike Beane
Collier:	Sue Buntic
	Linda Johnsen
	Christina Seado Vasquez
	Ron Jones
Hendry/Glades:	Amy English
	Jaimee Howard
	Rhonda McLymont
	Arenthia Herren
Lee:	Danielle Berhel
	Antranette Forbes
	Dr. Mireille Lauture
	Angela Hartsell
	Jennifer Young
	Crystal Revak
	Kirsten Thompson
	Colette Ott
	Jill DeValk
	Jessica Bellman
	Crystal Maldonado

The meeting was called to order at 11:02 a.m.

Chapter Treasurer Antranette Forbes reported that the Chapter account has a balance of \$1,162.47. She is currently reconciling the travel budget after 11 members attended the annual conference.

Membership Committee chair Crystal Revak reported 12 new members in November, giving us a total of 141 members.

Eleven members attended the annual AFC Convention in Orlando November 13-15. Edison received several awards:

- Sue Buntic received the Region IV Excellent Leadership Award.
- Crystal Revak and Kirsten Thompson received Region IV Unsung Hero Awards.
- The chapter received the 2013 Membership Award for "Greatest Percent Increase of Members Over Previous Year" across all 28 Florida state and community college AFC chapters.

- Dr. Mireille Lauture was selected as a finalist in the Student Development Commission's exemplary practice presentations for her program Conversation Café.
- Studio Edison State received six AFC Communication and Marketing Commission awards. In the Direct Mail Piece/Campaign category, Studio Edison State placed third for its Open House direct mail postcard and second in the Article/Story Pitch Resulting in Publication category for the article "Edison Student Morgan Pepitone is First Hendry County Woman to Attend West Point." Studio Edison State also swept the Advertising-Print category placing third for the print advertisement Your College, Your Community, placing second for the print advertisement Go Higher, Get Accepted, and first for its GreenFest Expo print advertisement.
- Finally, the newly redesigned college website received second place in the Website category.

Sue Buntic was selected as the 2015 Region IV director.

The Region IV annual conference will be help April 4, 2014 at Pasco-Hernando Community College in New Port Richey. Presentation opportunities are available. Let Sue know if you are interested.

Elections were completed. Three bylaws article amendments were approved by the membership. The following members were elected to the executive board for 2014: Sue Buntic – President; Kirsten Thompson – Secretary; Antranette Forbes – Treasurer; Edith Pendleton – Parliamentarian; Mike Beane – Charlotte Representative; Tom Buckingham – Collier Representative; Arenthia Herren – Hendry Glades Representative; Mireille Lauture – Lee Representative; Jennifer Young – Public Relations Representative.

The March Professional Development meeting will feature Teresa Morgenstern to discuss the name change and what we can expect. Other ideas were income taxes in January or February, Diversity, and leadership. We have a lot of new members so another survey will be sent out when we return from Winter break.

It was suggested that General Meeting notices be sent via an Outlook calendar invite so they are added to members' calendars. All agreed.

The next meeting will be on Tuesday, January 28, 2014 at 11:00. Charlotte E-105, Collier G-109, Hendry Glades A-106, and Lee I-122.