Department Chairs and Program Coordinators/Directors

Minutes

August 17, 2012 at 8:30 AM. in I-122

Present
Dr. Erin Harrel
Rona Axelrod
Kathy Clark
Jo Ann Lewin
Dr. Douglas Nay
Christina Ottman
Joycellen Rollins
Dr. Caroline Seefchak
Dr. Russell Swanson
Myra Walters
Dr. Richard Worch
Stacey Brown
Jeff Davis
Dr. Jeffrey Elsberry
Bobby Holbrook
Susan Holland
Deborah Howard
James Mayhew
Dr. Denise Mc Nulty
Karen Molumby
Michelle Fanslau

Dr. Harrel Information Items:

- 1. Welcome back for the fall 2012 semester. Brief discussion on vacations and other summer activities.
- 2. Professional Development Days schedule available for download in the document manager. Dr. Allbritten will be the keynote speaker at Convocation.
- 3. General announcements and discussion:
 - A. Personnel Changes:
 - o Dr. Jeffery Allbritten new President
 - The new faculty lines have been hired and faculty positions vacated have been hired as well.
- 4. Dr. Harrel is asking that the focus of meeting topics to include solutions-oriented discussions to problems and issues.

- 4. We will be creating a Canvas Course and inviting all Department Chairs and Program Coordinators/Directors to join the course. The course will be used as a place to store information, communications, etc.
- 5. New meeting minutes template should be used for all academic meetings. The template will be available in Canvas. Be sure to send all approved meeting minutes to Michelle Fanslau for upload to the document manager.
- 6. We will be changing the structure of this meeting to allow for a session together for information items and then break-out sessions for (1) Department Chairs and (2) Program Coordinators and Directors. Each group will be responsible for selecting a chair to facilitate the meetings. Dr. Worch and Dr. Elsberry volunteered.
- 7. Dr. Harrel asked, based on information from the chair retreat, if anyone would be willing to work on a job description that more accurately reflects the role of the chairs germane to Edison State College. Dr. Seefchak, Joyce Rollins, Myra Walters, Rona Axelrod, and Kathy Clark volunteered to work on updating the job description.

Meeting ended at 9:15 AM for breakout sessions for Department Chairs and Program Coordinators to discuss their meeting formats and to select chairs.