Academic Standards Meeting Minutes September 7, 2012

In Attendance: Dr. Peggy Romeo, Dr. Ron Smith, Natala Orobello, Cindy Enslen, Dr. Christy Gilfert, Dr. Rosalind Jester, David Luther, Dr. Maria Cahill and Dr. David Luther. Excused: Dr. Ann Eastman, Sara Dustin.

- 1. Meeting commenced at 12:12 PM in TLC on the Lee campus with polycom to Charlotte and Collier.
- 2. The first order of business was to inform the committee that a new chairperson must be elected to serve for the 2012-2013 academic year.
- 3. Nominations were sought and the sole nominee, Dr. Peggy Romeo, was elected by unanimous voice vote.
- 4. The election results will be forwarded to the Faculty Senate as per new guidelines established by President Allbritten. The Faculty Senate will then forward the results to the VPAA.
- 5. A brief discussion followed relating to the new HB 7153 that will establish a select committee to standardize the general education curriculum across the state. Ramifications of this process will affect the Academic Standards committee.

The meeting was adjourned at 12:40 PM.