Draft July 2013

Faculty Professional Development Committee

Responsibility: The Faculty Professional Development Committee (FPDC) will work to design, develop, and assist in presenting programs for faculty professional development. Programs will be designed to assist both full-time and adjunct faculty. The FPDC will work closely with the Division of Teaching Innovation, Faculty Development and Online Learning to provide guidance and support for the following activities:

- Design and operationalize faculty professional development on all campuses; being attentive to the use of technology in the delivery of professional development.
- Assist with the content of the faculty handbook.
- Identify best practices for classroom management.
- Identify learning theory concepts to consider; create workshops on pedagogy.
- Coordinate with other standing committees to establish and publish a catalogue and monthly schedule for faculty professional development workshops.
- Assist with the Faculty Professional Development website.
- Develop and implement professional development incentives to encourage innovative projects and activities.
- Review applications and administer the budget for the Faculty Professional Development Fund.
- Solicit and review nominations; select recipient(s) annually for the NISOD award.

Membership: One Academic Dean; one faculty each from the Division of College and Career Readiness, one faculty from the Library, three faculty from the School of Pure and Applied Sciences; three faculty from the School of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences; and one faculty member each from the remaining three Schools: Education, Business and Technology; Health Professions. Membership should include faculty from Lee, Collier, and Charlotte Campuses and the Hendry/Glades Center; Director of Academic Services; and the Director – Faculty Development and Training (Division of Teaching Innovation, Faculty Development and Online Learning.) Faculty members will serve for a two year term and are limited to two consecutive two-year terms (with the exception of the Chair who will serve for a minimum of two additional years after assuming the role of Chair.)

Committee Chair: The currently appointed Faculty Professional Development Committee Chair will serve for 2013-14. Subsequently, the Faculty Professional Development Committee Chair will be elected from the faculty membership on the committee and will serve for a two year term, subject to the approval of the Provost/Vice President of Academic Affairs.

Meetings: Monthly September through April.

Reporting: The Faculty Professional Development Committee Chair will meet with the Provost/VPAA at least twice a semester to update him/her on the committee's actions and recommendations. Meeting minutes must be maintained and will be posted for all College review within 2 weeks of each meeting.

Professional Development				
Discipline/Department	Name	Term begins	Term Ends	Campus
			2013-	
Chair (AHSS)	Dr. Catherine Wilkins	2012-2013	2014	Lee
			2014-	
Faculty (BT)	Munir Al-Suleh	2012-2013	2015	Lee
			2014-	
Faculty (AHSS)	Jason Calabrese	2012-2013	2015	Collier
			2013-	
Faculty (PAS)	Laurice Garrett	2011-2012	2014	Lee
Faculty(CCR)-College Prep /			2014-	
Developmental Studies	Rebecca Gubitti	2012-2013	2015	Lee
			2013-	
Faculty (BT)	Mike Nisson	2011-2012	2014	Lee
			2013-	
Faculty (AHSS)	Brian Page	2011-2012	2014	Lee
		2014 2012	2013-	
Faculty (AHSS)	Katie Paschall	2011-2012	2014	Collier
	Sandra Seifert	2011 2012	2013-	Hendry Glades
Faculty (PAS)	Sandra Sellert	2011-2012	2014 2013-	Glades
	Phil Wiseley	2012-2013	2013-	Lee
Faculty (AHSS)		2012-2015	2014	Lee
Pure and Applied Science faculty	Michael Witty	2013-2014	2014-	Lee
rule and Applied Science faculty		2013-2014	2013	Lee
Education faculty	Michelle Propper	2012-2013	2015	Lee
		2012 2013	2014-	200
Health Professions faculty	Raymond Lenius	2012-2013	2015	Lee
			2014-	
Library faculty	Tim Bishop	2013-2014	2015	Lee
			2014-	
Academic Dean	Theo Koupelis	2103-2014	2015	
Academic Affairs	Michelle Fanslau	2012-2013	2014-2015	Lee
Edison Online - Elearning	Melissa Rizzuto	2013-2014	2014-2015	Lee
Faculty (AHSS)	Sarah Lublink	2012-2013	2014-2015	Lee
Faculty (AHSS)	Laura Weir	2011-2012	2013-2014	Lee

Faculty Professional Development Committee Roster (2013-2014)